Lauren’s Substack
Not Your Usual Cancer Podcast
Ep1: My Diagnosis Story
0:00
-38:45

Ep1: My Diagnosis Story

Cancer at 39

Welcome to my new Podcast- ‘Not your normal Cancer Podcast’. Which I’m launching on the year anniversary of my diagnosis.

In this very first episode, I shares the story of my diagnosis of stage 3 colon cancer aged 39. How taking an online FIT test essentially enabled me to self-diagnose much earlier than if I’d waited for the symptoms to get really bad.

This was also thanks to having more awareness of the disease through the incredible Dame Deborah James aka ‘Bowel Babe’ and also through a connection with a lovely lady called Naomi on Instagram who was diagnosed 6 months earlier with stage 4 colon cancer. These women paved the path for a better outcome for me and I’m forever grateful. Both of them have sadly passed away, so this is very much in memory of them.

In future episodes, I’ll be sharing further insights about the experiences I had going through major surgery, chemotherapy, and how taking a spiritual, mind-body approach helped me get through the dark moments.


Start writing today. Use the button below to create your Substack and connect your publication with Lauren’s Substack

Start a Substack

0 Comments
Lauren’s Substack
Not Your Usual Cancer Podcast
Let change the narrative about what it means to have survived a Cancer diagnosis. Lauren the host was diagnosed with stage 3 bowel cancer at age 39 last year and will be sharing her own unusual journey from self-diagnosis through to integrating energy work, breath work, visualisation, spiritual practices and much more. Let's experiment and find joy and fun again and release the heaviness that going through cancer can bring.